Skip to main content

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: About

What is ProQuest Dissertations & Theses?

With more than 4 million entries, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world.

The database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861 as well as European dissertations back from the 17th century, to those accepted as recently as last semester.

What makes ProQuest Dissertations & Theses... Global? It incorporates expanded access to international scholarly works, from the UK to Continental Europe and China.

Now, ProQuest is adding full text for premier academic institutions, such as:

  • University College London
  • University of Aberdeen
  • Cardiff University
  • University of Leicester
  • University of Bath
  • Universitat de València

Publication Types

  • Doctoral Dissertations
  • Master's Theses

Subject Coverage

Arts, Business, Education, Humanities, and Social Sciences

  • Area, Ethnic and Gender Studies
  • Business
  • Communications and Information Sciences
  • Fine and Performing Arts
  • Education

Humanities

  • History
  • Language & Literature
  • Philosophy and Religion
  • Law and Legal Studies
  • Social Sciences
  • Interdisciplinary

Behavioral, Natural, and Physical Sciences

  • Agriculture
  • Architecture
  • Behavioral Sciences
  • Biological Sciences
  • Ecosystem Sciences
  • Engineering
  • Environmental Sciences
  • Geosciences
  • Health and Medical Sciences
  • Mathematical and Physical Sciences

Publication Coverage

ProQuest Dissertations & Thesis Global offers access to 4 million citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over two million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Over 130,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.