Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Professional Military Education: A Selective Bibliography

 

Find more articles and books in the databases under the subject of military education

Peer Reviewed Journals

Abbe, A., & Halpin, S. M. (2009, Winter). The cultural imperative for professional military education and leader development. Parameters. Available at http://strategicstudiesinstitute.army.mil/pubs/parameters/Articles/09winter/abbe%20and%20halpin.pdf

 

Brown, K.E., & Syme-Taylor, V. (2012). Women academics and feminism in professional military education. Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion: An International Journal, 31(5/6), 452-466.

 

Burridge, B. (2001). Post-modern military education: Are we meeting the challenge?. Defence Studies, 1(1), xi. Available in Political Science Complete

 

Cornell-d'Echert, B. (2012). Beyond training: New ideas for military forces operating beyond war. New Directions for Adult and Continuing Education, 136, 17-26. 

Cox, D., & O’Neill, A. (2007). Professional military education in Australia: Has it all gone terribly right? Australian Defence Studies, 171, 57-73.

 

Dennison, C. (2007). Operation Iraqi Freedom: What went wrong?: A Clausewitzian analysis. Journal of Military and Strategic Studies, 9(3). Available in CIAO

 

Dietz, A.S, & Schroeder, E.A. (2012). Integrating critical thinking in the U.S. Army: Decision support red teams. New Directions for Adult and Continuing Education, 136, 29-40.

 

 Esterhuyse, A. (2006). Professional military education and training: Challenges facing the South African military. Defence Studies, 6(3), 377-399. Available in the International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center

 

Forman, S., & Zachar, P. (2001). Cross-cultural adjustment of international officers during professional military education in the United States. Military Psychology, 13(2), 117-128. Available in the Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

 

Harris, B.F. (2014). Mandatory accreditation and the US Army Command and General Staff College.  Developments in Business Simulation and Experiential Learning, 41, 191-98. Available at https://journals.tdl.org/absel/index.php/absel/article/viewFile/2112/2081

 

Hasik, J. (2014). ‘Outside their expertise’: The implications of field manual 3-24 for the professional military education of non-commissioned officers. Small Wars & Insurgencies, 25(5), 1055-1062 . Available in the International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center

 

Johnson-Freese, J. (2012, Winter). The reform of military education: Twenty-five years later. Orbis. Available at http://www.fpri.org/docs/media/TheReformOfMilitaryEducation.pdf

 

Kelley, K.P., & Johnson-Freese, J. (2014, Winter). Getting to the goal in professional military education. Orbis, 58(1), 119-131. Available in print in the Library.

 

Kenney, S. H. (1996). Professional military education and the emerging revolution in military affairs. Airpower Journal, 10(3), 50. Available in the Military & Government Collection

 

Kilger, J. (2004, Summer). Academics and professional military education. Academic Exchange Quarterly, 8(2). Available at http://rapidintellect.com/AEQweb/mo2567l4.htm

 

Oler, A. (2011, Spring). A critical but missing piece: Educating our professional military on the history of Islam. Parameters, 41(1), 71-85. Available at http://strategicstudiesinstitute.army.mil/pubs/parameters/Articles/2011spring/Oler.pdf

 

Persyn, J.M., & Polson, C.J. (2012). Evolution and influence of military adult education. New Directions for Adult and Continuing Education, 136, 5-16.

 

Pretorius, A. (2010). Factors that contribute towards improving learning effectiveness using a specific learning management system (LMS) at the Military Academy (MA). Campus-Wide Information Systems, 27(5), 318 - 340.

 

Murray, W. (2001, Winter). The Army's advanced strategic art program. Parameters, 30(4), 31-39. Available at http://strategicstudiesinstitute.army.mil/pubs/parameters/Articles/00winter/murray.htm

 

Sibul, E. A. (2011). Military history, social sciences, and professional military education. Baltic Security & Defence Review, 13(1), 71-99. Available in Political Science Complete

 

Shea, K.P., & Fishback, S.J. (2012). Impact of cumulative combat stress on learning in an academic environment. New Directions for Adult and Continuing Education, 136, 53-63.

 

Schmidt, S.W., & Mott, V.W. (2012). Development of a graduate education program for U.S. Army interns and careerists. New Directions for Adult and Continuing Education, 136, 41-51.

 

Snider, D.M., Priest, R., & Lewis, F. (2001). The civilian-military gap and professional military education at the precommissioning level. Armed Forces & Society, 27(2), 249-272. Available in the International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center

 

Thomason, J. B. (2013). Move out and forget it: An exploratory look at the effects of deployment on the education of military personnel. The Journal of Continuing Higher Education, 61(2), 106-115.

 

Tung, M., Huang, J., Keh, H., Wai, S. (2009). Distance learning in advanced military education: Analysis of joint operations course in Taiwan military. Computers & Education, 53(3), 653-666.

 

Utting, K. (2009). Beyond joint-Professional military education for the 21st century: The United Kingdom’s post-defence training review advanced command and staff course. Defence Studies, 9(3), 310-328. Available in the International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center

 

Zacharakis, J., & Van Der Werff, J.A. (2012). The future of adult education in the military. New Directions for Adult and Continuing Education, 136, 89-98.

Trade Publications, Papers, & Magazine Articles

Allen, C. D. (2010). Redress of professional military education the clarion call. JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, (59), 94-100. Available in the Military & Government Collection

 

Antis, R.M., & Clark, C.H. (2002). Creating a new path for joint education. JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, (30)7, 74-82. Available in the Military & Government Collection

 

Berg, P. (2014). The importance of teaching followership in professional military education. Military Review, 94(5), 65-71. Available in the Military & Government Collection

 

Bowhers, V. C. (2012). Manage or educate: Fulfilling the purpose of joint professional military education. JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, (67), 26-28. Available in International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center

 

Cronin, P. M. (2010). A strategic education. Marine Corps Gazette, 94(6), 60-65.

 

Curry, J.T.(2010). Senior officer professional military education as an equalizer. JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, 59(4), 30-34. Available in the International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center

 

Driscoll, J.B. (2000). Developing joint education for the total force. JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, 24(2), 87-93. Available in the Military & Government Collection

 

Durand, J. F. (1999). Foreign professional military education. Marine Corps Gazette, 83(9), 35-38.

 

Frerichs, R. L., & DiRienzo, S.R. (2011). Establishing a framework for intelligence education and training. JFQ : Joint Force Quarterly, (62), 68-73. Available in the Military & Government Collection

 

Gipe, J. D. (2012). Is enlisted joint professional military education a bridge too far? The Officer, 88(2), 43. Available in the International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center

 

Greatsinger, P. D. (2004). Education, like camouflage, is continuous. Marine Corps Gazette, 88(4), 24-26.

 

Hasik, J. (2014, October/December). 'Outside their expertise': The implications of field manual 3-24 for the professional military education of non-commissioned officers. Small Wars & Insurgencies, 25(5-6), 1055-1062. Available in the print.

 

Johnson-Freese, J. (2012, July 3). Professional military education: Separate military requirements and academic degrees. Small Wars Journal. Available at http://smallwarsjournal.com/blog/professional-military-education-separate-military-requirements-and-academic-degrees

 

Johnson-Freese, J., Haring, E., & Ulrich, M. (2014). The counterproductive “sea of sameness” in PME. JFQ: Joint Forces Quarterly, 74(3), 58-64. Available in the Military & Government Collection

 

Knarr, K. A. (2004). Joint professional military education-the road ahead. Marine Corps Gazette, 88(4), 26-28.

 

Mahoney-Norris, K. (2009). The role of professional military education in preparing officers to wage war justly and ethically. Conference Papers-International Studies Association. 2009 annual Meeting: 1-19. Available in Political Science Complete

 

Mahoney-Norris, K. A., & Ackerman, J. (2012). PME and online education in the Air Force. JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, (67), 20-25. Available in International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center

 

Major, A. E. (2014). Ethics education of military leaders. Military Review, 94(2), 55-60. Available in the Military & Government Collection

 

Matyók, T. G., & Schmitz, C. L. (2014). Is there room for peace studies in a future-centered warfighting curriculum?. Military Review, 92(3), 51-55. Available in the Military & Government Collection

 

Mazarr, M. (2013, April 13). Disruptive thinkers: The PME debate needs more informed thinkers. Small Wars Journal. Available at http://smallwarsjournal.com/jrnl/art/disruptive-thinkers-the-pme-debate-needs-more-informed-thinkers

 

Maxwell, D.S.(2012, January 1). Thoughts on Professional Military Education: After 9-11, Iraq, and Afghanistan in the era of fiscal austerity. Small Wars Journal. Available at http://smallwarsjournal.com/jrnl/art/thoughts-on-professional-military-education-after-9-11-iraq-and-afghanistan-in-the-era-of-f

 

McGuire, M. (2011). Pulling back the curtain. JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, 63(4), 120-124. Available in Military & Government Collection

 

Moyar, M.(2009). Counterinsurgency and professional military education. Small Wars Journal. Available at http://smallwarsjournal.com/blog/journal/docs-temp/329-moyar.pdf

 

Murray, N. (2014). The role of professional military education in mission command. JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, 72. Available in the Military & Government Collection

 

Ossola, A. (2014, November 14). Why air force cadets need to study philosophy. The Atlantic. Available at http://www.theatlantic.com/education/archive/2014/11/at-the-air-force-academy-stem-education-isnt-enough/382793/

 

Preston, R. A., & United States Air Force Academy. (1980). Perspectives in the history of military education and professionalism. [Colorado Springs?] : U.S. Air Force Academy. Available at http://www.usafa.edu/df/dfh/docs/Harmon22.pdf

 

Reed, G.E. (2014). The pen and the sword: Faculty management in the mixed cultural environment of the war colleges. JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, 72(1), 14-20. Available in the Military & Government Collection

 

Reed, G.E. (2011, July 1). What's wrong and what's right with the war colleges. Defense Policy Journal. Available at http://www.defensepolicy.org/george-reed/what%e2%80%99s-wrong-and-right-with-the-war-colleges

 

Ricks, T.E. (2011, April 11). Need budget cuts? We can probably start by shutting the Air War College. Foreign Policy. Available at http://ricks.foreignpolicy.com/posts/2011/04/11/need_budget_cuts_we_probably_can_start_by_shutting_the_air_war_college

 

Saunders, P.C. (2009). Sun Zi's Art of War and U.S. Joint Professional Military Education. Institute for National Strategic Studies. Available in CIAO

 

Savion, S.M. & McCaffrey, T.J. (2010). Burgeoning courses, lagging standardization. JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, (57), 72-77. Available in International Security & Counter Terrorism Center

 

Scales, R. H. (2010). Too busy To learn . U.S. Naval Institute Proceedings, 136(2), 30-35. Available in the Military & Government Collection

 

Smith, N. (2009). Overdue bill: Integrating counterinsurgency into army professional education. Small Wars Journal. Available at http://smallwarsjournal.com/blog/journal/docs-temp/326-smith.pdf

 

St. Amour, R.D. (2002, July). The evolution of enlisted professional military education. Marine Corps Gazette, 86(7). 

 

Vaneman, W. K. (2011, April 20). The case for joint professional education for the Afghan National Forces. Small Wars Journal. Available at http://smallwarsjournal.com/jrnl/art/the-case-for-joint-professional-security-education-for-the-afghan-national-security-forces

 

Yaeger, J.W. (2008). Developing national security professionals. JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, (49), 115-120. Available in the Military & Government Collection