OneSearch Discovery

What Is OneSearch?

OneSearch is a unified discovery system which allows users to simultaneously search multiple databases through one central access point. The search includes the library's online catalog, most of the library subscription databases, some open access databases, and some databases to which the library does not currently subscribe.

Databases Searched in Discovery

JSOU Library's Online Catalog

Academic Search Ultimate

Africa-Wide Information

Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate

Arab World Research Source

Arctic & Antarctic Regions

ArXiv

ATLA Religion

Business Source Ultimate

CRCnetBASE eBooks

Digital Access to Scholarship Online (DASH)

EBSCO eBook Collection

eScholarship (University of California)

Education Source

ERIC

Government Printing Office

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center

JSTOR

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies

Military & Government Collection

OAIster

OAPEN Library 

OECD iLibrary

OverDrive

Political Science Complete

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

Sociology Source Ultimate

Taylor & Francis eBooks

World Politics Review

Databases NOT in Searched in Discovery

CIAO 

LexisNexis 

Oxford English Dictionary

Digital National Security Archive (ProQuest)

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)

Global Newsstream (ProQuest)

Taylor & Francis Online (Social Science & Humanities Library)

*These are searchable via an app extension (on the right side of the discovery screen) which will carry your search terms over. However, it is best to search these specifically.

Discovery Overview

Improving Your Search Results


*The OneSearch discovery system (EDS) is provided by EBSCO and is partially customizable, allowing libraries to tailor certain features. While the underlying logic, organization, and search tools remain generally the same, the JSOU Library's discovery system may have minor differences from the example used in these videos.

FAQs

What isn't included in OneSearch discovery?

Discovery systems do not search everything. Due to a variety of issues, such as interface incompatibility or publisher competition, there are numerous databases and websites that cannot be integrated into discovery and must be searched individually. View a full list of databases here.

 

Why include databases that don't provide full text to articles?

There are a few databases, not subscribed to by the library, which are included in the search and these will not provide full text of articles or books. However, this increases one's ability to discover a more complete record of existing research. Your librarians are happy to help you find full articles and books, which can usually be obtained through interlibrary loan.

 

Can I still search individual databases?

Yes. In fact, it is not ideal to rely solely on the discovery system. Different databases have unique content, features, and interfaces. If you know what you're looking for it is preferable and more effective to use the database(s) germane to that particular subject or media type.

 

Do I have to sign in?

Anyone can search using the discovery system, this is why it says "Hello, guest. Login for full access" at the top of the search result screen. You will be prompted to login when attempting to access any full text documents.

For best results we recommend logging in straightaway. 

If you do not remember your login or would like to set up an account please contact the library.