Skip to main content

Citation Management: EndNote Basic

Citation Management services help you collect, store, and organize all your research sources and easily create bibliographies.

Login to your EndNote account and keep the tab open.

  • Exporting a Single Citation for an Article
    • Instead of going straight to the full text PDF or HTML of an article click on the title to open the Detailed Record*
    • On the right of the screen is a list of tools. Select the icon.
    • Choose Direct Export to EndNote Web and click Save.

*The Detailed Record provides bibliographic information, an abstract, and subject terms for articles.


Creating a Bibliography

Imported citations can be organized into groups (e.g., citations for a specific paper).

  • All imported citations will be listed under My References
  • Check each citation you want to group together
  • Under the Add to Group dropdown box  either create a new group or add to an existing group

To generate a bibliography:

  • Select bibliography under the main Format tab at the top
  • Under References select the appropriate group
  • Under Bibliographic style select your citation format
  • Under File format select either html, plain text, or rich text
  • Save, e-mail, or print (or copy and paste the bibliography into your paper)

Create a Free Account

This is the free online version of EndNote. EndNote Basic lets you:

  • Import references from databases (EBSCO databases will export citations directly into your account)
  • Manually create citations
  • Organize references by topic or for individual research papers
  • Generate bibliographies