Skip to main content

Women in Combat: Articles & Books

Below is a selective bibliography. For more sources search the databases. These are some recommended subjects on the topic of women in the military:

women in combat

women military personnel

women in war

women & the military

women veterans

Articles

Azarbaijani-Moghaddam, S. (2012). Seeking out their Afghan sisters: Female engagement teams in Afghanistan. CMI Working Papers. Retrieved from http://www.nato.int/issues/women_nato/2014/5096-seeking-out-their-afghan-sisters.pdf

 

Bakken, T. (2014). A woman soldier's right to combat: Equal protection in the military. William & Mary Journal of Women and the Law, 20(2), 271-294. Retrieved from http://scholarship.law.wm.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1378&context=wmjowl

 

Barry, B. (2013). Women in combat. Survival: Global Politics and Strategy, 55(2), 19-30. Request through Interlibrary Loan

 

Brower, J. M. (2002). A case for women warfighters. Military Review, 82(6), 61-66. Retrieved from Military & Government Collection

Brown, K. B., & Army War College (U.S.). (2012). Ending combat exclusion: The right wo(man) for the job. Carlisle Barracks, PA: U.S. Army War College. Retrieved from http://www.dtic.mil/dtic/tr/fulltext/u2/a561138.pdf

 

Brown, J. G., & Ayres, I. (October 01, 2004). The inclusive command: Voluntary integration of sexual minorities into the U.S. Military. Michigan Law Review, 103, 1, 150-188. Retrieved from http://islandia.law.yale.edu/ayres/InclusiveCommand.pdf

 

Bush, P. M. (2014). The Biomechanics of women in combat. Industrial Engineer: IE, 46(5), 51-53. Retrieved from Applied Science & Technology Source

 

Copeland, R.W. (2015). The elimination of the department of defense ground combat exclusion rule may be the key to invalidating two BFOQ defenses. Southern Law Journal, 102(25), 101-121. Retrieved from http://www.southernlawjournal.com/2015_1/SLJ_Spring%202015_Copeland.pdf

 

Coppola, M. N., LaFrance, K. G., & Carretta, H. J. (2002). WOMEN IN COMBAT!. Military Review, 82(6), 54-60. Retrieved from Military & Government Collection

 

Devaney, D. K. (2012). Women in combat arms units. Marine Corps Gazette, 96(6), 62-64. Available in Library print periodicals

 

Dieckmann, C. M. (2011). Equal pay for equal work?-The distributional effects of the assignment policy for military women. Columbia Journal of Gender and Law, 22(1), 250-327. Retrieved from LexisNexis

 

Donaldson, K. (2005). Is It Time For G.I. Jane?. Off Our Backs, 35(11/12), 32-35. Retrieved from Academic Search Complete and JSTOR 

 

Dreazen, Y. J. (2011, November). Women fighting the nation's wars. National Journal. Retrieved from Academic Search Complete 

 

Dyvik, S. L. (2014, September). Women as 'practitioners' and 'targets': Gender and counterinsurgency in Afghanistan. International Feminist Journal of Politics, 16 (3), 410-429. Retrieved from Political Science Complete (*18 month publisher full text delay)

 

Eden, J. (2015). Women in combat: The question of standards. Military Review, 95(2), 39-47. Retrieved from Military & Government Collection

 

Egnell, R. (2013). Gender perspectives and fighting. Parameters, 43(2). Retrieved from http://www.strategicstudiesinstitute.army.mil/pubs/Parameters/issues/Summer_2013/4_Egnell_Article.pdf

 

Epstein, Y., Yanovich, R., Moran, D. S., & Heled, Y. (2013). Physiological employment standards IV: Integration of women in combat units physiological and medical considerations. European Journal of Applied Physiology, 113(11), 2673-90. Request this article through InterLibrary Loan 

Hader-Markel, D. P., Jorgensen, A., Doan, A. E., & Portillo, S. (2014). Is the juice worth the squeeze? Integrating women into a male organization. APSA 2014 Annual Meeting Paper. Retrieved from http://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/papers.cfm?abstract_id=2452314

 

Harding, T.A. (2012). Women in combat roles: Case study of Female Engagement Teams. U.S. Army War College. Retrieved from http://www.dtic.mil/dtic/tr/fulltext/u2/a561195.pdf

 

Haskell, S. G., Brandt, C. A., Krebs, E. E., Skanderson, M., Kerns, R. D., & Goulet, J. L. (2009). Pain among veterans of Operations Enduring Freedom and Iraqi Freedom: do women and men differ?. Pain Medicine, 10(7), 1167-1173. Retrieved from http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1526-4637.2009.00714.x/pdf

 

Holland, S.L. (2006, February). The dangers of playing dress-up: Popular representations of Jessica Lynch and the controversy regarding women in combat. Quarterly Journal of Speech, 92(1), 27-50.  Ask for this article through Interlibrary Loan

 

Holliday, J.R. (2012). Female Engagement Teams: The need to standardize training and employment. Military Review, 95(2), 65-61. Retrieved from Military & Government Collection

 

Holliday, J. R. (2012). US Army Female Engagement Teams: Professionalizing the Training and Looking Forward. Retrieved from http://www.dtic.mil/docs/citations/ADA592705

 

Hylden, C., Johnson, A. E., & Rivera, J. C. (2015). Comparison of Female and Male Casualty Cohorts from Conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan. U.S. Army Medical Department Journal, 70-75. Retrieved from Academic Search Complete

 

Johnson, D.V., and Michele Putco. (2008). Women in combat compendium. Strategic Studies Institute. Retrieved from  CIAO

 

Jones, Gina Maria O. (n.d.). Female engagement teams: making the case for institutionalization based on U.S. security objectives in Africa. Fort Leavenworth, KS : US Army Command and General Staff College. Retrieved from http://www.dtic.mil/docs/citations/ADA583961

 

Kamarck, K. N. (2016). Women in combat: Issues for Congress. Congressional Research Service. Retrieved from https://fas.org/sgp/crs/natsec/R42075.pdf

 

Katt, M. (2014). Blurred lines: Cultural Support Teams in Afghanistan. JFQ, 75(4), 106-113. Retrieved from Military & Government Collection

 

Kind, A. (2013). Women in combat. The RUSI Journal, 158(1), 4-11. Request this article through Interlibrary Loan

 

King, A. C. (2015). Women Warriors: Female Accession to Ground Combat. Armed Forces & Society, 41(2), 379-387. Request this article through Interlibrary Loan

 

Long, Gail C. (2012). Effectiveness of U.S. Military Female Engagement Teams. Retrieved from http://www.dtic.mil/docs/citations/ADA567705

 

MacKenzie, M. H. (2015). True grit: The myths and realities of women in combat. Foreign Affairs. Retrieved from https://www.foreignaffairs.com/articles/2015-08-12/true-grit

 

McNulty, S. S. (2012). Myth busted: Women are serving in ground combat positions. The Air Force Law Review, 68, 119-165. Retrieved from Military & Government Collection

 

McSally, M. (2007). Women in combat: Is the current policy obsolete?. Duke Journal of Gender Law & Policy. Retrieved from http://scholarship.law.duke.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1133&context=djglp 

 

Military Leadership Diversity Commission. (2011). Women in combat: Legislation and policy, perceptions, and the current operational environment. Retrieved from https://www.hsdl.org/?view&did=716213

Miller, L. L., Kavanagh, J., Lytell, M. C., Jennings, K., & Martin, C. (2012). The extent of restrictions on the service of active-component military women. RAND. Retrieved from http://www.rand.org/pubs/monographs/MG1175.html

 

Mitchell, T., White, E.D., & Ritschel, D. (2014). Investigating the correlation of the U.S. Air Force Physical Fitness Test to Combat-Based Fitness: A women-only study. Military Medicine, 179(6), 653-658. Retrieved from Military & Government Collection 

 

National Women's Law Center. Integration of women into ground combat: Status report. Retrieved from http://www.nwlc.org/sites/default/files/pdfs/integration_of_women_in_ground_combat_revised_joint_draft.ndc_.03.26.2015_2.pdf

 

Nicolas, A. (2015). What the Female Engagement Team experience can teach us about the future of women in combat. Military Review, 95(2), 56-61. Retrieved from Military & Government Collection

 

Office of the Under Secretary of Defense. (2012). Report to Congress on the review of laws, policies and regulations restricting the service of female members in the U.S. Armed Forces. Full text here

Ruby, J. (2005). Women in Combat Roles: Is That the Question?. Off Our Backs, 35(11/12), 36. Retrieved from Academic Search Complete

 

Schjølset, A. (2013). Data on Women's Participation in NATO Forces and Operations. International Interactions, 39(4), 575-587. Retrieved from  Academic Search Complete

 

Segal, M. W. (1995). Women’s military roles cross-nationally: Past, present, and future. Gender & Society, 9(6), 757-775. Retrieved from JSTOR

 

Simons, A. (2000). Women can never "belong" in combat. Orbis, 451-461. Retrieved from http://faculty.nps.edu/asimons/docs/Women%20Can%20Never%20Belong%20in%20Combat.pdf

 

Summers, C. H. (2013). Women. Military Review, 93(4), 71-78. Retrieved from  Military & Government Collection

 

Szayna, T. S. (2015). Considerations for integrating women into closed occupations in the U.S. special operations forces. Santa Monica: Rand Corporation. Retrieved from http://www.defense.gov/Portals/1/Documents/wisr-studies/SOCOM%20-%20Considerations%20for%20Integrating%20Women%20into%20Closed%20Occupations%20in%20the%20US%20Special%20Operations%20Forces.pdf

 

Tarrasch, R., Lurie, O., Yanovich, R., & Moran, D. (2011). Psychological aspects of the integration of women into combat roles. Personality and Individual Differences, 50, 305-309.

 

United States. (2015, July). Military personnel: DOD is expanding combat service opportunities for women, but should monitor long-term integration progress. Retrieved from http://www.gao.gov/products/GAO-15-589

 

Vossler, Elizabeth A. (2013). Advancing Gender Considerations in Military Operations. Retrieved from http://www.dtic.mil/docs/citations/ADA591135

 

Watson, J.L. (2011, July). Female Engagement Teams: The case for more female civil affairs marines. Marine Corps Gazette. Available in the Library's print periodicals

 

Wojack, A. N. (2002). Integrating women into the infantry. Military Review, 82(6), 67-74. Retrieved from Military & Government Collection

 

Yoram, E., Yanovich, R. Moran, D.S., & Heled, Y. (2012). Physiological employment standards IV: Integration of women in combat units physiological and medical considerations. European Journal of Applied Physiology, 113, 2673-2690. Request through Interlibrary Loan

Books